Provinces within the National Capital Region (NCR) will settle into a Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine starting April 12, 2021. This development comes after two weeks of Enhanced Community Quarantine, the strictest lockdown any local government unit can impose.

This new quarantine status is set to last until April 30, 2021. In addition to the NCR, other areas affected by this will include those in the “NCR Plus” bubble—such as Laguna, Cavite, Rizal, and Bulacan.

The set curfew during this period has already been decided. Unlike the 6:00 PM to 5:00 AM schedule imposed during ECQ, MECQ will have the schedule of 8:00 PM to 5:00 AM.


Presidential spokesman Harry Roque ruled out any chances of ECQ extending earlier in the week. He cited the lack of funds to continue helping those badly affected by the imposed restrictions as the reason.

As of this writing, the government continues to distribute Php 1000 in aid, though said cash aid will not go beyond Php 4000 per family. An estimated 22.9 million families were promised this aid as long as the stringent lockdowns in the area continue.

Friday, April 9, saw the highest death count from COVID-19 ever recorded in the country. The Department of Health reported 401 new mortalities, while Saturday reported the third consecutive day of active cases rising to new heights.


390 days have passed since many parts of the Philippines were first kept under lockdown.

Source: Philstar

Share with your friends!